Ranks in CSGO Explained

CSGO (Counter-Strike: Global Offensive) is a first-person shooter game which is played competitively by millions of the players around the world. Like other competitive games, CSGO has a built-in ranked mode where the players can compete against other players in 5v5 matches. In CSGO, the players are ranked based on their own skill level and performance in competitive matchmaking games. Of course, the ranking system is an important and integral part of the game. Well, here we will explain about ranks in CSGO.

What are Ranks in CSGO?

Rank in CSGO is a performance indicator which is responsible for your gaming skills while you are playing the game. Your CSGO rank will be displayed right under your username in the game. Like other online games, CSGO has a ranking system to distinguish an experienced player from a beginner player. Surely, the rank and title of the player in CSGO can change, depending on your gaming skills.

Since the beginning of the game’s competitive mode, CSGO ranking system has not changed. Apparently, there are 18 different ranks in CSGO (Counter-Strike: Global Offensive), from  Silver to Global Elite (GE) rank. For your information, Silver I (S1) rank is the very lowest rank that you can reach in CSGO, while the very highest rank you can achieve in CSGO is Global Elite (GE) rank.

Here are all the CSGO ranks in order from lowest to highest:

  1. Silver I (S1)
  2. Silver II (S2)
  3. Silver III (S3)
  4. Silver IV (S4)
  5. Silver Elite (SE)
  6. Silver Elite Master (SEM)
  7. Gold Nova I (GN1)
  8. Gold Nova II (GN2)
  9. Gold Nova III (GN3)
  10. Gold Nova Master (GNM)
  11. Master Guardian I (MG1)
  12. Master Guardian II (MG2)
  13. Master Guardian Elite (MGE)
  14. Distinguished Master Guardian (DMG)
  15. Legendary Eagle (LE)
  16. Legendary Eagle Master (LEM)
  17. Supreme Master First Class (SMFC)
  18. Global Elite (GE)

Competitive Skill Groups

Competitive Skill Groups CSGO Ranking

Wingman Skill Groups

Wingman Skill Groups CSGO Ranking

Danger Zone Skill Groups

Danger Zone Skill Groups CSGO Ranking

Profile Ranks

Profile Ranks CSGO Ranking

How Do CSGO Ranks Work?

To determine the rank of players, CSGO utilizes the Glicko-2 system. The Glicko-2 system only cares about rating volatility and deviations. It is not like the ELO system which considers round disparity among lots of other factors. Apparently, to suit its shooter, Valve has already modified the Glicko-2 system.

The ranking system in CSGO set a numerical range to a hidden MMR (Match Making Rating) rank. This system will look for variations and spikes in your performance. No matter how many games you win, this system will not let you out of the assigned MMR (Match Making Rating) rank until you do something greatly. Remember that the higher your RD (rating variability), then the more opportunities of ranking up.

The CSGO ranking system will have more appropriate data to place you in CSGO, if you play about 20 games per day. And, if you keep performing within your own skill cycle, the ranking system will not push you out of the rank because it has already determined you are. But, if you have an unstable history, then the ranking system will notice high variation. It means that it cannot decide exactly where to place you. Thus, you will get a higher chance to rank up.

How to Get Your First Rank in CSGO?

After you know about the ranks in CSGO, now you may want to know how to get your first rank in CSGO. So, how do you get it? Simply, CSGO rank is an indicator of your skill or ability in the game. Of course, you will not be able to get CSGO rank without doing anything. To get your first rank in CSGO, you must win 10 competitive matches. Keep in mind that you can play only two matches per day. So, you must play the game as well as possible. This will determine the level of your skills in the game. After you win 10 competitive matches, then you will be assigned to one of 18 CSGO ranks, depending on your matches’ performance. From right now, you will have an unlimited number of matches. Remember that you can play only with the players who have five ranks lower or higher than your rank. After that, officially you are ranked and can start your adventure in CSGO (Counter-Strike: Global Offensive).

CSGO Ranks Distribution

In CSGO (Counter-Strike: Global Offensive), mostly, you will fight against players with the Gold Nova ranks. In 2023, it is reported that around 34.68% of the player base is Gold Nova rank, while 31.93% is Silver rank. The highly competitive players usually meet the CSGO’s lower ranks. Thus, most players find themselves stuck within the lower ranking. If you can achieve the Global Elite rank successfully, then you will become part of the best players; the 0.75% of the Global Elites.

Here is the complete breakdown of the CSGO ranks distribution:

  1. Silver I (S1): 3.9%
  2. Silver II (S2): 4.23%
  3. Silver III (S3): 4.37%
  4. Silver IV (S4): 5.21%
  5. Silver Elite (SE): 6.44%
  6. Silver Elite Master (SEM): 7.78
  7. Gold Nova I (GN1): 8.76%
  8. Gold Nova II (GN2): 8.79%
  9. Gold Nova III (GN3): 9.05%
  10. Gold Nova Master (GNM): 8.08%
  11. Master Guardian I (MG1): 7.55%
  12. Master Guardian II (MG2): 6.61%
  13. Master Guardian Elite (MGE): 5.24%
  14. Distinguished Master Guardian (DMG): 4.15%
  15. Legendary Eagle (LE): 3.25%
  16. Legendary Eagle Master (LEM): 3.2%
  17. Supreme Master First Class (SMFC): 2.64%
  18. Global Elite (GE): 0.75%

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *