Instagram has a number of interesting features such as sharing photos, videos, stories, doing live, and sending messages to other users. Often, these activities make people spend a lot of time on Instagram.
This platform is not only used by users for sharing their private life, but also for business. A lot of users use Instagram to promote their products or services so that they can reach more customers with it.
You may want to deactivate your Instagram account for some reasons such as for decreasing your activities in cyberspace and wanting to focus on your activities in real life. It is okay if you want to deactivate your Instagram account either temporarily or permanently, but do you know how to deactivate your Instagram account?
If you want to deactivate your Instagram account, but you do not know how to do it, you are able to read the instructions below according to the Kata Data site.
The Steps to Deactivate Instagram Account Temporarily
If you want to deactivate your Instagram account temporarily, you can do it and it is important for you to know that after you have deactivated it, you are able to activate it back if you want to use the Instagram account again. Before you deactivate your Instagram account, it is also important for you to note that when you deactivate your Instagram account, your followers in Instagram will not be able to see your timeline and they also cannot find your account. However, they still can see direct messages, but the name of your account will turn into “Instagrammers”.
When you deactivate your Instagram account temporarily, Instagram still saves your account information including your followers and photos in your feeds.
So, here are the steps to deactivate your Instagram account temporarily.
- First, open Instagram.com through your smartphone.
- And then, log in to your Instagram account.
- After that, you have to click on your profile picture at the top right corner.
- Here, you need to choose Edit Profile.
- If you want to deactivate your account temporarily, you have to click on the “Deactivate My Account Temporarily”.
- And then, you need to choose the reason from this question: “Why do you deactivate your account?”
- After that, enter your password again.
- And now, click on “Deactivate My Account Temporarily”.
The Steps to Deactivate Instagram Account Permanently
If you want to deactivate your Instagram account permanently, you are able to do that by following the steps below.
- First, you have to open the Instagram app and then tap the Profile icon from bottom right.
- At the top right corner, you have to tap the Settings icon.
- Here, choose Help and then choose Help Center.
- If you want to deactivate your Instagram account permanently, choose Manage Your Account and then choose Delete Your Account.
- And now, you need to choose “How to delete my Instagram account”.
- And then, choose the link “Delete your account page”.
- In this step, you have to choose the reason why you want to delete your account.
- And then, enter your Instagram password.
- Click on “Delete my account permanently”.
Deactivating Instagram account permanently can also be done through website and here are the steps for doing it.
- Open instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/ in search bar of your browser.
- Then, log in to your Instagram account.
- After that, you have to choose the reason why you want to delete your account.
- And then, you need to enter your password again.
- And now, you have to choose “Delete my account permanently”.
What Will Happen If An Instagram Account Is Deleted Permanently?
You may wonder what will happen if an Instagram account is deleted permanently. Well, if you delete your Instagram account, the thing that will happen is that all of your Instagram history will be deleted forever. It means that all of your photos, videos, archives, messages, and followers will be deleted permanently from your account and you cannot get them back.
It is important for you to note that you are the only one who can delete your instagram account, so for your safety, Instagram cannot do it for you and Instagram also cannot activate your deleted account. So, before you delete your Instagram account, you have to consider several things and if you are sure to delete it, you can do it.
Let’s say that you have deleted your Instagram account permanently. And then, in future, you want to go back to Instagram. If so, you cannot activate your old account and you cannot register again by using your old username. If you want to register again, you have to use a new username.
After 30 days of requesting account deletion, your account and all of the information in it will be deleted permanently. The process of deletion takes around 90 days after your request.
On my daily job, I am a software engineer, programmer & computer technician. My passion is assembling PC hardware, studying Operating System and all things related to computers technology. I also love to make short films for YouTube as a producer. More at about me…