What Is Secret Conversation in Messenger You Should Know

Secret conversation in Facebook messenger allows two people to chat and talk in a private space. Of course, that cannot be viewed by anyone else. This feature is available to all Facebook users. The feature is encrypted and makes sure that no one can open the conversations without a passkey.

What Is Secret Conversation In Facebook Messenger?

Secret conversation is a feature that is available within Facebook’s Messenger app. The feature allows two Facebook users to have a conversation which is encrypted. While Facebook messengers have boasted regarding keeping your conversations encrypted, this secret conversation takes that to the next level by allowing end-to-end encryption.

It means that it is only the person who initiated the chat, and the person to whom the chat was sent can see the conversation. End-to-end encryption makes unique keys for each person. Once two people start a chat, the app uses those keys to secure connection. It means that no one, not even Facebook can see your chats.

How To Have Secret Conversations On Messenger?

This Secret conversation only exists on the devices where they were initiated. Therefore, if you sign in to a new device, you will not be able to see previous Secret Conversation chats with the user. In addition, the Secret conversation only supports one-on-one chats. You cannot have group chats with end-to-end encryption. The messenger’s secret conversation supports images, stickers, videos, and voice recordings. It does not support GIFs or any type of calling (video or audio).

So, we are able to conclude that Secret Conversation is an end-to-end encrypted message which has a timer on it. When the time is up the messages will be able to self-destruct. Only people who are in chat can view the messages. Even Facebook cannot access the conversation. The messages can only be read on the device which you select to read it. After it has been read, it cannot be opened in another device. For instance, if you have read the message on your Mobile phone, you cannot reopen it on your PC. With this secret conversation, you are able to manage how long the messages will stay. For example, setting a timer for 6 minutes and then the messages are going to disappear.

How To Have Secret Conversations On Messenger?

You are able to access secret conversations right from your old Facebook Messenger app. First, you will need to turn the feature on. For a few reasons, Facebook does not keep this on by default. To turn on secret conversations on Messenger, you are able to launch the app and then tap on your Profile picture to open Settings. Now, scroll down to ‘Privacy’. Next, tap secret conversations and toggle the slider on.

Please go back to your conversation page. To start a new Secret Conversation with a user, simply tap the pen icon in the top right corner. Now, you are going to see a lock icon in the top right corner. Please turn on and then you are able to choose the user with whom you want to begin a Secret Conversation. You are going to notice all the sections of Messenger that were normally blue are now black. This symbolizes a Secret Conversation. Just go ahead and chat as you normally. You will be able to send images, videos, stickers, videos, and even voice recordings.

How To See Secret Conversation On Messenger?

As secret conversations are only visible on the devices which they are initiated on, you will not be able to view them even if you sign in to your Facebook account on a PC. You only have access to your secret conversations on the Messenger app. The secret conversations are indicated by a black lock symbol. You are able to see the symbol on the person’s profile picture in the list of the chats.

To see secret conversation, simply you are able to launch your Messenger app. After that, scroll through your chats. If there is a black lock symbol on a person’s profile picture, it means that the conversation with that person is end-to-end encrypted. You are able to open a Secret Conversation by tapping on it, as you do a normal Messenger message.

How To Make Your Secret Conversation Disappear?

Apparently, this secret conversation has a timer function to let you decide how long you want to keep the conversation visible. By default, it is set to off. But, if you want your messages to disappear once they are read, do this simple guide.

How To Make Your Secret Conversation Disappear

Firstly, Launch the Messenger app and then open a Secret Conversation. Now, you are able to tap the timer button next to the chat box. Here you are able to choose the time-limit for your disappearing chats. The timer starts when the other person opens your chat. Once you set a timer for your chats, the timer button is going to turn red to signify that the chats will disappear.

Remember that the timer you set only applies to your chat messages. The other person may set a different timer for once they want their chat messages to disappear. You are going to see a countdown timer appear next to the message when a timer is set. Once the countdown ends, the chat disappears. You will be able to keep changing the timer as many times as you want. Also, you are able to set a different timer for each chat message that you send.

How To Remove Secret Conversation?

In fact, you are able to remove Secret Conversation messages. But, when you remove Secret Conversation messages, they are only removed from your chat, and not the other person’s. The other person can see your individually removed messages. To remove a message in secret conversations, simply you are able to tap and hold on the message. Then, choose ‘Remove’. You will need to confirm ‘Remove’ on the popup. The message is going to disappear from your chat.

Also, you are able to remove all your secret conversations off your device at once. To remove all your secret conversations on Messenger, simply launch the app, and then go to settings by tapping your profile picture in the top left corner. Next, go to Privacy > Secret Conversation and choose ‘Delete all secret conversations’.