Instagram Close Friend: What Is It and How to Use it?

Instagram comes with numerous features that allow users to enjoy a variety of fun things on it. One of the most popular features on Instagram is Close Friends. When you select this feature, only the accounts on your Close Friends list can see your Instagram Stories.

Your videos or photos containing your personal information should remain confidential, and even if shared on Instagram, be sure to share them with people closest to you. That’s why the feature of “Close Friends” on Instagram is very useful since it can hide some content that shouldn’t be for public consumption.

As the name implies, the feature of Close Friends allows you to share your sensitive videos, photos, or content in stories, so that only certain people can consume them. If you want to know more about Close Friends on Instagram and how to use it, you can dive into our post to find the information. Here you go!

Instagram Close Friend-What Is It and How to Use it

What Is a Close Friend on Instagram?

Instagram Close Friends is one of the great features that lets users grant a subsection of followers special permission to see their private Instagram Stories. In other words, this feature allows you to create a private list of users that can see your stories.

The list of Close Friends is only for your Instagram stories, so it does not apply to posts on your feed, reels, or videos. The feature of “Close Friend” is very useful to limit the content of your stories to a smaller group of people or friends.

Keep in mind, each added account will still know that they’re included in the Close Friends list, although there is no special notification. When we post stories specifically for them, the display will look different than usual.

It is known that stories shared with the Close Friends list will be seen with other ring colors. If it commonly shows a gradient from red, purple, to yellow, which is typical of Instagram, you will specifically find green for that content.

Don’t worry! Every account in a Close Friends list will not know each other, since only the users who post the stories can know who is in it and other people cannot ask to be added.

In accordance with their needs, the list of Close Friends itself can be changed. Instead, since Instagram does not choose your Close Friends list, you can add or remove accounts at any time manually. If you are on someone’s Close Friends list, you will also see their Close Friends Story whenever they post it, whether in the stories feed or on their profile.

Furthermore, you can also access it by tapping on your profile picture. Of course, people who are not on your Close Friends list cannot see your Close Friends Stories or see the green circle. Unfortunately, you cannot remove yourself from someone’s Close Friends list. Instead, you can either ask the account owner to remove you from the list. If you do not feel good asking them to remove you from their Close Friends list, you can try to block the account or mute their stories. On the other hand, people will not be notified when you add or remove them from your Close Friends list.

How to Use Instagram Close Friends?

If this is your first time using the feature of Close Friends on Instagram, you may not know how to use it. However, it’s pretty easy to use the feature of “Close Friends” on Instagram. If you want to use Instagram Close Friends, you can follow the following steps:

    • First, open the Instagram app on your device.
    • After that, you need to log into your Instagram account.
    • Once you are logged in, you can tap your profile picture at the bottom-right of the screen.
    • Then, press the horizontal lines located at the top-right of the page to choose “Close Friends.”
      How to Use Instagram for Close Friends
    • Here, you need to scroll through your followers to add or remove them. If necessary, you can use the feature of ‘Search’.
    • After finding an account you want to add, you can choose “Add” to indicate the accounts you want to include in your Close Friends list. You can also click ‘Remove’ to remove the accounts in your Close Friends list.
      How to Add Instagram for Close FriendsHow to remove Instagram for Close Friends

That’s how to use the feature of Close Friends on Instagram and start to share your stories with the accounts in your Close Friends list.

For more information, if you remove an account from your Close Friends list, the accounts added or removed from your Close Friends list will not get special notifications. Thus, you can still be more flexible in creating your personal stories and sharing them with others.

How to Upload a Story to Close Friends on Instagram?

After adding the accounts to your Close Friends list, you can try to post an Instagram story with your Close Friends list. As we’ve mentioned, the option of “Close Friends” is for sharing content on your stories, but only for those users you want to see it.

It’s pretty simple to upload a story as if it were public, adding stickers, editing the filter, and also mentioning the profiles you want. Here’s how to upload a story to Close Friends on Instagram!

    • First, open the Instagram app.
    • After that, you need to log into your Instagram account.
    • Then, you can open the Story creation menu by swiping the screen to the right.
      How to Upload a Story to Close Friends on Instagram
    • Here, you can create or upload content you want to share.
    • You can edit your story by adding text or stickers.
    • Last, you can tap ‘Close Friends’ (a green icon) and share your story with them.
      tap ‘Close Friends’ (a green icon) and share your story with them

Okay, you successfully uploaded a story to your Close Friends list on Instagram.

For more information, the feature of “Close Friends” is different from the way to activate the private account option. Close Friends allows you to prepare stories that are both private and public. You can really use it in accordance with the needs and the type of upload you want.