How to Deactivate Snapchat Account Temporarily

Since the first time it was released to the public, Snapchat has become one of the most popular platforms. It always finds its way to be one of the most popular even though the competition is really competitive and it is definitely not easy to maintain the top position.

A lot of people find Snapchat as a fun platform with emojis, Bitmojis and so on. While it offers a lot of fun things, it is normal when they are tired of it or if they have to stay away from this platform for a while due to having so many activities.

If you are getting busier or if you have a personal issue or if you are just sick of Snapchat, you might want to deactivate your Snapchat account for a while or temporarily, in hopes the thing gets better after taking a break. When the right time comes, you might want to go back to Snapchat again without having to go through a long process.

Fortunately, Snapchat allows you to take a break from Snapchat by deactivating it. However, you cannot do it as long as you want. It means there is a limit of how many days you can deactivate your account. If you take a break longer than the rule, you will lose your account forever.

In order to temporarily deactivate your Snapchat account, here is step by step that you need to follow:

    1. The first thing that you need to do is to go to the account portal of the official website of Snapchat at here.
    2. When you are there, log in on the portal.
    3. After logging in, the next thing that you should do is to click the option to delete your account.

How to Deactivate Snapchat Account Temporarily

After following the method above, your Snapchat account will be temporarily deactivated by Snapchat for 30 days. When your Snapchat account is temporarily deactivated, each message sent to you by the others will show up as pending. Not only that, your account will be invisible, making the others not be able to contact you. Due to the situation, some people might think that they are removed from your friends list. To avoid people misunderstanding the situation, it is better for you to reach out first and let them know that you are taking a break or want to be away from Snapchat for a while and when they cannot contact you, ask them to understand that you do not mean to remove them from your contact list.

Once the period ends, the account will get deleted permanently. Actually, this method is not new as a lot of social media services also use the same one. A lot of those who delete the Snapchat account are actually just tired of getting the messages and notifications and want to get away from all these things as they are quite annoying. They do not really mean to get rid of their Snapchat account and some of them are even mistaken for it. It is the reason why Snapchat will only make an account disabled or suspended temporarily instead of deleting it permanently. It is actually a good thing and beneficial for the users as they have a second chance to think if they really want to delete their Snapchat account permanently or just need a short break.

As stated before, your Snapchat account will be temporarily deactivated after following the guide to temporarily delete your account above and it will last for a period of 30 days. In case you just need a short break and want to continue using Snapchat, you can just reactivate it as long as you are still in the first 30 days period after following the guide above. The username and the password will still be the same and there is no change at all. To be able to regain the access to your Snapchat account, you can just log back into the app with the same username and password. It should be noted that email logins will not work so do not ever try to do that. Talking about reactivating your Snapchat account, another thing to keep in mind that the process may take up to 24 hours. If you change your mind in the last minutes of the 30 first day period, the time might run out when you are waiting to get back in. In order to prevent this kind of thing from happening, you are suggested to make up your mind before the first 30 days period ends. Reactivating your Snapchat account on the last day is risky and you might have to create a new account.

On the other hand, if you change your mind after 30 days have passed, you should say goodbye to your Snapchat account forever. If it is the case, you have no other option but to create a new Snapchat account if you want to use Snapchat again as your old account has been deleted permanently.

Before deactivating your Snapchat account, it is better for you to download every data on Snapchat just in case you miss the 30 first day period. If you want to do it, the process that you will need to get through is simple. All the steps include:

    1. Firstly, you will need to go to accounts.snapchat.com, as stated before.
    2. Then, log in to the site. If you do not do it often, a Suspicious Login page may show up on the screen.
    3. You will be asked by this page to prove that it is really you. You can prove it by entering a code the site will send you via either the text message of the registered email address.
    4. Please follow the process well.
    5. Next, on the account homepage, find and click on My Data.
    6. On the next screen, you will be explained with the type of data Snapchat has on file for you. Please scroll down to the very bottom of the page and click on Submit Request.
    7. By following the step, you should receive an email that consists of a copy of your Snapchat data. This copy is sent as a ZIP file. It is usually sent within 24 hours. Bear in mind that it will be needed for you to wait to get this before you delete your Snapchat account or else the ZIP file will not be sent.