Valorant Rank System Explained

Valorant is an FPS game and same as some other games, in this game, there is also a rank system. If you are a new player in this game, you may wonder about the system of Valorant rank. Knowing the system of Valorant rank is important so that you can know how you can get the next rank in the game.

Valorant Ranks

Here is the list of Valorant Rank.

    • Iron 1
    • Iron 2
    • Iron 3
    • Bronze 1
    • Bronze 2
    • Bronze 3
    • Silver 1
    • Silver 2
    • Silver 3
    • Gold 1
    • Gold 2
    • Gold 3
    • Platinum 1
    • Platinum 2
    • Platinum 3
    • Diamond 1
    • Diamond 2
    • Diamond 3
    • Immortal 1
    • Immortal 2
    • Immortal 3
    • Radiant

Valorant Rank System Explained

As you are able to see from the list above, there are eight tiers to Valorant’s ranking system namely Iron, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, Immortal and Radiant. All Valorant rank tiers have three sub-ranks except Radiant. Rank one is the lowest and rank three is the highest. So, in total, there are 22 Valorant ranks if you exclude Unranked.

Radiant rank will be achieved by the top 500 players in each region. As explained on The Loadout site, almost the top 1% per region will get Immortal rank.

The Way To Unlock Valorant Ranked

Talking about Valorant rank, the first thing that you need to know is that you are not able to get Valorant’s ranked mode soon after you install the game. It is because you need to unlock access to Valorant’s competitive modes. It can be done by reaching account level 20. It will give players enough time to get used to some agents, learn the maps and also master some gameplay mechanics.

The Way Valorant’s Ranking System Works

If you have not played this game and you just got started, you may wonder how Valorant’s ranking system works. As explained on The Loadout site, it works like most competitive games out there. If you have unlocked the ranked mode by reaching account level 20, then you have to play five placement matches. It is done to determine your starting rank and your skill level.

For your information, Valorant uses a matchmaking rating system to rate players in ranked. The matchmaking rating system is called MMR. Every player has a number which is associated with their account that adjusts over time where it puts them in and out of ranks when they get better.

In the Valorant Episode 3, you are introduced with a lot of improvements and changes to matchmaking in ranked. Those are better matchmaking accuracy, and adjustments to players’ Ranked Rating curves to make climbing and falling down the ranks ‘less volatile’.

The system of ranking in this game is based on whether you win or lose a match as a team and the individual performance that you do plays a smaller role here.

However, in the higher ranks, the rule changes. At Immortal and Radiant ranks, Riot will assess how you win and lose your matches and your individual performance plays the main role in the matchmaking process. The developer states this thing because it trusts you and your teammates have earned your way there.

Let’s say that you are not active for 14 days. If so, your rank will be hidden. However, you do not have to be worried because it will go back when you have played your first match again. It is important for you to note that if you go away more than two weeks, your rank will not decay.

In the beginning of a new Act, you need five games to get a rank. However, it is important for you to note that your MMR from the previous rank will be taken into account. So, you can expect a conservative placement at first where you are able to work your way back up the ranks. It means that you can expect to be placed a few tiers below where you were in the previous act. That’s the explanation about the Valorant rank system according to The Loadout site.

The Valorant Act Ranks

The Valorant Act Ranks

In Valorant, there are Act Ranks now. It is a way of showing your skill during and at the end of a season. You may not be sure how the Act Rank Badge triangle works. Well, as explained on The Loadout site, every time a match in an Act is played by you, your Rank Act badge will be filled with a new triangle which represents the rank you played in. When your rank is up, new triangles which represent higher-ranked matches will replace the lower-ranked matches. Also, you will see that the border for the badge changes based on the number of wins that you achieve in that rank.

As also explained on The Loadout site that for some people, at the end of an act, their badge will look colourful. However, for others who are at the top dominating Radiant, they expect to see a solid gold triangle.

You may realize that in Episode 1, you were only given triangles for winning matches. However, from Episode 2 onward, you are given a triangle based on the rank you end a match with.

The Way to Check Rank Progression in Valorant

You are able to check your rank progress in Match History. However, Episode 2 took a leaderboard and progress bars. As a result, it is easier for players to check their rank progression in Valorant. It does not use Episode 1’s arrows, but Valorant Rank Rating is shown on a progress bar. It shows your proximity to the next rank.

Valorant RR can be earned if you play matches where the majority of which is from winning or losing. Around 10 to 50 Rank Rating will be obtained for a win and a max of 20 for a draw. As explained on The Loadout site that between Iron and Diamond ranks, individual performance will be counted when calculating your Rank Rating.

After you are promoted to a new rank, you will always begin at 10 Rank Rating and a minimum of 80 after a demotion. Each Episode’s rank rewards can be found on the rank info page.