How to Deleted Cash App Account

For those who like going out with your friends, splitting the bill might be a normal thing for you. This kind of thing can be easier with the Cash App. With it, you are allowed to split any sum equally among friends and then pay each other. While you may find it helpful, there may be a time when you find it useless, to the point you have a thought to close your account. What should you do to delete your Cash App account?

Before deleting your Cash App account, it is a must for you to transfer all your funds into your bank account. In order to do that, below is step by step to follow:

    1. The first thing that you have to do is to open the Cash App.
    2. When it opens, log in to your account.
    3. Once you have successfully logged in to your account, you will be able to see the main page where you usually can make or request a payment.
    4. When you are there, choose the house icon to switch to the Cash App home page. This icon is located at the lower left. In this page, you will find the option to transfer your balance to your bank account by tapping Cash Out. By using the Cash Out option, you will be able to transfer your account funds out to the bank account that you have already configured for use with your account. If you want to transfer the funds in your Cash App to a different bank account, you are suggested to set that up first before cashing out your account.
    5. Just follow the Cash Out instructions in the app to be able to complete the funds transfer and empty your account funds.

Take a note that even if the balance in your Cash App account is zero, there is no way for you to close your account if you have any stocks or Bitcoin. In this case, you will have to go into every stock and then choose Sell. As for Bitcoin, you can do the same thing for any Bitcoin that you have. When everything is at zero, including the Cash Balance, you can follow the steps.

After transferring your funds, now you can delete your Cash App account. If you have no idea how to delete it, check out the following guide:

    1. First of all, you should choose your Profile icon from the same home screen where you cashed out your account. This icon is located at the upper right corner of the screen. By doing so, your profile page will open. When it opens, please tap the Support link located at the bottom of the list of options.
    2. By doing so, the Support page with a list of common help options will be opened. As the option to close your Cash App account is not listed here, please tap Something Else to continue to the next page of options.
    3. On the next page, you will be able to find more account options. If you have not transferred your Cash App balance to your bank account, you can also tap Cash Out to be able to do that. If you have done it before, please tap Account Settings to be taken to the Account Settings page. How to Deleted Cash App Account
    4. In order to start this process, you can just tap Close Account > Close by Cash App Account.
    5. By following the step, you will be directed to a page with more information about what it means when you close your Cash App account. Make sure to read all of this well to ensure that you really want to close your account. If you are sure, it is time for you to tap the Confirm Closing Account link that is located at the bottom.
    6. After confirming your account closure, your Cash App account will be deleted. Starting from this stage, your $Cashtag (the user ID of Cash App) will no longer exist and if someone sends you money, there will be an error.

Once you have successfully deleted your Cash App account, you may want to delete the app from your phone. How to do that? The steps to follow to be able to remove the Cash App from your phone can be found below:

Remove the App From Your Phone

    • On iPhone: If you want to delete your Cash App account on iPhone, you can do it from your phone. Not only that, it is also possible for you to do that via the Apple App Store. If you have an iPhone 12 and want to delete it, all that you have to do is to just tap and hold the app and then tap Remove App.
    • On Android: If you want to delete your Cash App account on Android, there are a few options that you can try. Among the methods, the easiest one is to tap and hold the app and then tap Uninstall.

It should be easy for you to empty your Cash App balance, close your account, and delete the app from your phone by following the guide above. In case you want to use Cash App again, take note that it will be needed for you to sign up for a new Cash App account and reinstall the app.

Talking about deleting the Cash App account, you may be wondering if you can do it for someone who has died. If you want to delete the Cash App account of someone who has died, you can just follow the same process explained above. Everything should be easy as long as you know the password. In case you do not know it, you are advised to contact the customer case of Cash App. When you get the chance to talk to them, please explain the situation to them. Before reaching them out, make sure to prepare your bank account and the other details of that person to prove the claim.