How to Clear Instagram Search History (Suggestions) on App & PC

When you are using the app called Instagram, you can search for everything such as people, topics, trends, and many more. However, all your search actions are stored inside the app. In case you do not want for the app to save your recent searches, the search history can be cleared from within the app.

Clearing Instagram search history and suggestions on app

We will talk about the method to delete the history from the Instagram app on mobile phones, which can be used for Android, iOS, and Windows operating systems. The first thing that should be done is to open the app named Instagram. Then, find your profile icon which is usually located at the lower right, and tap it. Another one that needs to be tapped is the hamburger looking Menu icon that you can find at the top right. In the new options, please choose Settings and then select Privacy and Security. In the new pop up, do not forget to scroll down to the option to find Clear search history. Doing so will open a new window asking you to confirm the action. After confirming it by clicking on Yes, the search history would disappear.

Clearing Instagram search history

Feel free to click on No in case you want to cancel your action. It is better for you to refresh the device and browser after it for the move to be more efficient and effective. However, one thing to take note is that the history is deleted only from your account. It means it would be there in the accounts of people with whom you have interacted and hence, they will show up as suggested accounts.

Clearing Instagram search history and suggestions on PC

The instructions for clearing Instagram search history and suggestions on PC is quite similar but there are some differences. First of all, you will need to go to the official website of Instagram and then log on to your account. Then, click on Settings and then choose Account Data. The next thing that you will have to do is to choose Account Activities and then click on View Search History. Now, it is time for you to choose the Delete Search History and then confirm the delete by clicking on the Yes tab of the pop up window. In the end, you can refresh your browser and then restart your PC for the delete to be more efficient.

Clearing certain Instagram users from appearing in your suggested search

As stated earlier, the deleted search account might still show up in the recommended search list as they are still there on the profile of the other user. The thing could be both annoying and embarrassing. Fortunately, they can be stopped from appearing in your suggested search menu. This method would work for both mobile and PC.

Firstly, you should open the Instagram app or go to the official website of the app and log on to your account. After that, go to the search section which is known as a magnifying glass icon. The past search list will be seen. From there, choose the individual users and then delete them. Finally, they would no longer show up on your search suggestion list.

Persistent search history

In some cases, the deleted search user profiles keep appearing even after you have deleted them. If you face the same situation, you can try these following steps:

First and foremost, you will have to restart your PC or mobile. Restarting your device works for lots of issues. Before doing so, you are suggested to log out of your Instagram account. To do so, go to your profile and then click on the Setting icon. Next, scroll down to the option Log Out and tap on it. you would be logged out of your account by following the step. After you have restarted your device, you can log back into your account.

For those who are using an Android, you can do the same by going to the Settings menu of your device and then clicking on the app management. Depending on your device, you might see a different name. From the list, please find the Instagram app and tap on it. In the app storage page, there will be two options: Clear data and Clear cache. The one that has to be tapped is Clear cache. Once it is tapped, restart the device. This step is able to clear the temporary storage of the app.

In case the issue is still there, you can try to follow the same steps but you will need to click on Clear data or Clear storage this time. Keep in mind that it will delete all data such as your username, password, and so on, and reset it back to when it was installed for the first time on your device.

In the worst case, you can simply uninstall the app from your device and then reinstall it back.

It has been known that everyone on social media looks for the other users and Instagram is the same. The search history is similar to the one on the web browser. There is a pro and con of it. The advantage is the fact that it shows you the recent searches that you have made and if in the future you want to visit that profile or hashtag again, you can take the advantage of the history instead of searching again. When we are talking about the disadvantages, the search history will show up every time you tap on that search bar.

If in the situation when you use the Instagram search with someone beside you then it is clearly something that can risk your privacy and they would know the ones that you have been stalking. For your information, the search suggestions are shown based on your search history, so you might be annoyed by the inappropriate suggestions. If you do not want that to happen, then you can consider deleting the search history and suggestions from Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *